top of page
  • Writer's pictureLaura Torgrimson

Art

This summer was busier than I had originally anticipated, but I am glad to have fit in a little bit of art for myself. Especially when on outings I enjoyed bringing my sketchbook/ art journal along.

This is the Beaver First Nation crest and it can be found on many places on the reserve.


The area I was living in had vast amounts of forest and untouched land where the most beautiful wildflowers can be found. This beautiful bouquet was made, picked and brought to me by a very kind community member.



While in Beaver I found a bracelet beading loom in some of the craft supplies which I started to play around with. By the end of the summer I had quite a collection, and had homemade gifts to give some of the youth as I said my goodbyes.







A sketch of the Fort Vermilion Rodeo grounds

I enjoyed sketching and painting, but what I am most excited about is the new medium I got to explore. I was taught by two incredible ladies how to bead and sew moccasins, and I am incredibly proud to say I made a pair (nearly) all by myself! I learned that beading is not as easy as it seems, and I was perplexed by how difficult sewing through the multiple layers of leather was. When watching Hilda and Mary sew I was in awe of how easily these two ladies could punch through three layers of leather like it was nothing. Meanwhile, I did not come out unscathed. I took a week off after making my first moccasin before I could start on my second one. My fingertips were shredded from the number of times I punctured myself with the needle, but without any doubt I would do it again and I am so honored and grateful for the chance to learn about such a beautiful tradition.


111 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page