top of page
  • Writer's pictureLaura Torgrimson

Reminiscing



I have now been back in Edmonton for 1 month, and while I am happy to be in my own home where everything is much more familiar, I genuinely miss the Beaver First Nation Fire hall.



The highlight of my time in Beaver was culture camp. The community puts together a 6 day camp at Two Lakes, Beaver's traditional territory for the community to come together at the end of the summer and celebrate their heritage. The camp is filled with food and activities for all ages, specifically geared towards teaching and practicing traditional Beaver practices. When I am reminiscing about Beaver, and telling stories I often refer to culture camp and the incredible lessons I learnt there. I can't think of any other situation where I would have the privilege of learning to prepare a moose hide, cut dry meat, bead and sew moccasins, try moose nose, or sit and listen to stories told by elders and I will be forever grateful.




I am incredibly grateful to the Engage North program and Beaver First Nation for providing me with once in a lifetime opportunities, and I can't wait until I can visit this beautiful place again.


Love Always,

Laura

43 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Art

bottom of page