top of page
  • Writer's pictureLaura Torgrimson

Wild(ish)life

Up in Northern Alberta there is a lot of untouched land and therefore an impressive amount of wildlife. My roommate Libby and I are both a little animal crazy, so we have enjoyed seeing new furry friends. One of the animals we were told to be especially watchful for is black bears. There are quite a few known to live on the reserve, and people will see them right in their back yards. Since being here Libby has seen 8 black bears, luckily always from the safety of a car, while I have yet to see a single one. On one hand I know that bear encounters are not something you want because they are dangerous, but I am starting to feel pretty left out. I want to see one! I have however seen two moose, a fox, many cranes, eagles, deer, wild horses and dogs.






Earlier in July Libby and I were just relaxing in the loft above the firehall (where we live) with the door open when a dog walked right into our house. We were ecstatic, and gave that dog an afternoon of love and pets. While he hung out with us we called him random names until he responded to something and the name he happened to come to was chesterfield, which we shortened to Chester. Eventually after asking around to find out whose dog it was we found his owner and Chester, whose real name is Sparky, went back to his home.


A few weeks later Libby went on a trip to Cadott lake with some youth and Elders to a gathering in regards to Treaty 8 and while she was there she fell in love. There was a little stray puppy that appeared to be approximately 2-3 months old that she decided she could not live without. She brought home this little German Shepard cross and before the puppy was even in the loft I was already head over heels for this adorable little creature.

Libby has named her Honey, and she is a sweet, perfect little pupper. She has cost me my favorite sandals, and if I leave my door open Honey has decided my rug is her favorite indoor pee spot, but Libby and I adore her all the same. Like every other person who is obsessed with their dog, here are some pictures!





19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page